About Us


The College of Surgeons of Malaysia was founded in November 1972 with a membership of twenty- three fellows and Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Abdul Majid Ismail as its first President. This significant milestone has played a pivotal role in shaping history of surgery in Malaysia. The primary objective of the College is to maintain and promote the highest standards of surgical practice in the country.

In 1992, fellows of the College felt the need to extend their responsibility in the profession and through a resolution opted to merge with the Academy of Medicine of Malaysia. The merger was formalised on 16th December 1995.The College represents the diverse interest of surgical specialties and actively promotes the art and science of the various surgical disciplines. It offers excellent services to its members and is actively engaged in training, supporting continuing professional development programmes, research and the promotion of quality patient care by developing good practice guidelines.

There is desire and enthusiasm among its fellows to see expansion of surgery in Malaysia parallels that of the best in the world.

Office Bearers

Professor Dr Lim Kean Ghee
Senior Vice President
Dr Siow Sze Li
Hon Secretary
Professor Dr Christopher Ho Chee Kong
Hon Treasurer
Dr Ng Char Hong
Council Members
Dr Azlina Firzah Abdul Aziz
Dr Azmi Alias
Professor Dr John Chan Kok Meng
Professor Dr Dharmendra Ganesan
Professor Dr Azlina Abbas
Dr Margaret Leow Poh Gaik
Professor Dr Shireen Nah
Datuk Seri Dr Yusof Abdul Wahab
Chapters of the College
Associate Professor Dato' Dr Hari Chandran Thambinayagam
Orthopaedic Surgery
Dr Jamal Azmi
Paediatric Surgery
Dato' Dr Zakaria Zahari
Plastic, Aesthetic and Craniomaxillofacial Surgery
Dr Regunathan Villanayer
Vascular Surgery
Dr Naresh Govindarajanthran
Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
Professor Dr John Chan Kok Meng
Upper GI
Dr Hans Alexander Mahendran
Dr Ong Teng Aik
Breast and Endocrine Surgery
Dato' Dr Imi Sairi Ab Hadi
Women Surgeons
Professor Dr April Roslani
Colorectal Surgery
Professor Dr April Roslani
Trauma Surgery
Dr Rizal Alwi
Minimally Invasive Surgery
Dr Loh Chit Sin

Feb - Jun - Aug - Oct 2023
Care of the Critically Ill Surgical Patient (CCrISP®) Course 2023
Details & Registration

14 Dec 2022
(Non-Technical Skills for Surgeons) Course
Details & Registration

26-28 Aug 2022
CSAMM 2022
- website